A beginners adventure into film from an audience member to behind the camera

Movie Reviews

I watch a lot of film, A LOT of film, this page is just basically going to be a short review page in case anyone cares to read my thoughts on the films I watch.

26 responses

  1. jone5films

    DeathRace – I recently watched this movie much to my chagrin. It actually wasn’t as bad as i thought it would be, (NOT to say that it was actually good, just not as horrid as I expected). The action was ok, and the plot while a stretch actually seemed semi-plausible. I continue to enjoy Jason Stathams work, but honestly the dialogue written for this movie did not utilize any of this talents what so ever.

    Overall I give the movie 2.5/5 stars

    June 18, 2009 at 6:36 pm

  2. jone5films

    Some Like it Hot – this was a fun film starring Marilyn Monroe, Tony Curtis and a very young Jack Lemon. Broke musicians during the Chicago Prohibition escape certain death from angry mob by joining an all female band in Florida. It was strange to see these guys dressed in drag for half the movie, given that it was made in 1959. Most of it was pretty funny, but honestly nearly 50 years later some of the jokes fall flat. The timing and delivery though of Curtis and Lemon are truly great. Its a sort of old corny, movie and i’m sure that it pushed the envelope a lot more back then, as dressing in drag isnt really an uncommon occurance on screen anymore (ie: Mrs Doubtfire, Madea, etc..). I give it 3/5 stars.

    June 23, 2009 at 1:55 pm

  3. jone5films

    Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen – I have been waiting for this movie for a long time. I was really suspicious of the first one when it came out, thinking they would bastardize yet another one of my cherished childhood memories, but nothing could have been further from the truth. The film was excellent. I didnt like the images of the Transformers i had seen prior to the film, but seeing them move it was perfect.

    This movie they had to keep the pace. The film starts out action packed. But they have way to many side stories that dont add to the plot and some that even take away from it. The parents, Sams roomate and a few other sub plots just dont add to the story at all. There are some parts where they do add some great comic relief, but the over do it.

    The biggest glaring fault in this film was the Fallen. The new bad guy that the Almighty Megatron bows to. This disrupts the balance of the supposedly almighty villian. There are other parts that would have been better if they just stuck to the cartoon story. Its really a weird thing with these professional writers cant come up with something better than what was cobbled together to promote the selling of toys almost 30 years ago.

    Jetfire was ok, i actually enjoyed it but they played up the silliness. There are some characters that can be silly. Call it the R2D2 and C3PO factor. They can be silly and funny but there is a fine line between good humor (the original star wars, and cheesy campiness : the new star wars).

    Optimus Prime was as usual badass, but they made him a little to violent. Lets not forget the autobots were scientists, not soldiers like the decepticons. Its not in their nature to want to destroy everything, but yet at times Prime seems almost saditic in his bloodlust for decepticons. I would expect this from some of the other autobots like iron hide for example but not from the benevolent Optimus.

    Devastator was cool, but overall they failed to capture the awesomeness and fearsomness of it.

    Its a simple rule really, dont make your hero way more powerful than the villian. When you do this it makes the accomplishment of the hero winning seem easy and not worked for. They teetered back and forth on the line of this principle and overall i felt the violated it more than they honored it.

    Another gripe is the ton of Transformer goons. They had dozens of generic transformers at the end, that could have easily been cameos of actual Transformers but they cheaped out. I mean i would have much prefered this to the kitchen utensil ones at the beggingng trying to get a laugh.

    Overall though i still enjoyed it, i grew up on the stuff afterall, and i love watching Transformers on screen like no other spectacle i have ever witnessed. I do so wish they could have devised a story as compelling as the original (which still did have a bit of cheese sprinkled in but still great).

    3.5/5 stars

    June 25, 2009 at 2:55 pm

  4. jone5films

    All about Eve – I got this film since it won a few academy awards. It stars Betty Davis, Anne Baxter and the guy who did the voice of Sher Khan on the jungle book. Its a story of a young nobody (Baxter) who becomes enamored with an aging Theatre Star (Davis).

    Davis takes her under her wing, as Baxter studies her so to try and replicate her rise to stardom. Outstanding acting and delivery by Davis. I was in awe at much of her dialog, and the way she said it.

    Interesting piece and interesting take on how women interact with each other and others.

    July 1, 2009 at 6:38 pm

  5. jone5films

    Psycho – Yes im late to the party here. I had seen just about every other major Hitchcock film so i naturally had to complete it with viewing this masterpiece. Amazing cinematography especially given it was filmed over 50 years ago.

    I loved the portrayal of Norman Bates. I knew the basic premise so the end game wasnt a big surprise given ive read much about the source material for the inspiration for this film, but many of the details were a pleasure to see and view. The interaction with the private detective, and the other characters.

    Anyone who hasnt seen this should run out and get it.

    4/5 stars.

    July 1, 2009 at 6:41 pm

  6. jone5films

    Defiance – This is the latest WWII flick to come out on video. It stars a post Wolverine Liev Schrieber and Daniel Craig. It chronicles the true account of brothers who form a community / camp which serves as a safehaven for jews in hiding during the Holocaust.

    Basically the story is Schindlers list meets Rambo. Both of the brothers lose their families and predictably kindle romances with fellow camp goers. This along with battles with Nazis and trying to stay in hiding along with the extreme conflict between the two brothers over how to run the camp sets the premis for the movie.

    On paper it sounds amazing and very exciting. In practice, it did have some good action scenes, but failed to evoke the emotion and intensity of Spielberg who basically has made the definative works on the period (SPR, and S List).

    I did however, enjoy that EVERYONE in the movie spoke with authentic (enough) accents corresponding to their country of origin (UNLIKE some recent WWII movies staring Tom Cruise with british nazis lol)

    2.75/5 stars

    July 1, 2009 at 7:02 pm

  7. jone5films

    Annie Hall – 1977
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0075686/

    – This is the most popular Woody Allen film ever. Ive never been a huge fan of Woody Allen (although i did recently enjoy Vicky Cristina Barcelona).

    This film opens up with a monologue by Allens character about his life and love and how he never seems to get the two to work out. The premise is him in a series of relationships that builds up to his most important relationship which of course is Annie (played by Diane Keaton).

    It has some of Allens special brand of nervous, nerotic humor and i enjoyed it. I particularly found funny the times when some of the women he’s dating simply dont get his humor (which I think i have experienced a few times).

    Its a clever film, that has a different take than some films of today. I did find it reminiscent of John Cusaks High Fidelity (which I supposed borrowed from this film on premis and delivery).

    It has many notable apperances by various young actors such as Christopher Walken, Shelly Duval, Jeff Goldblum and Beverly DAngelo. The film ran away with 4 Oscars that years including Best Picture and Best Director.

    I would say its a must see, although there may be a slight generational gap in the humor for some of the younger viewers but I would still recommend it.

    3/5 stars.

    July 2, 2009 at 2:47 pm

  8. jone5films

    Sweeny Todd – 2009 – I finally saw Tim Burtons latest film collaboration with Johnny Depp Sweeney Todd. It starts Burtons wife Helena Bohnam Carter along with Depp and is a film adaptation of the play. I enjoyed this aside from some difficult to understand english singing sprinkled around. Alan Rickman also stars along with Sascha Baron Cohen. I found some of the CGI fast tracking shots a little distracting and uneccesary but overall the plot moved along fine. I should note that i never saw the original play in its entirety but from what I recall of what i saw of the Tony Award winning portrayal by Angela Lansbury it was fairly true. I did at first think that Depp and Carter despite loads of make up were still a bit to good looking for the parts, but after a few minutes on screen that faded. Depps singing was surprisingly adequate in my opinion, and the young boys was particularly good. I had the most trouble with Carters singing, actually (but who wouldnt look second best next to Murder She Wrote).
    Definetly worth a rental if you want to see a musical from a different perspective than something like Chicago or Moulin Rouge.

    3/5 stars

    July 8, 2009 at 2:13 pm

  9. jone5films

    Push – 2009 – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0465580/

    This is an overall fun movie about people with psychic powers that manifest in different ways (telekinisis, suggestion, clairvoyance etc..).

    It stars Dakota Fanning, that guy from Fantastic Four and Djimon Hisou (Amistad, Gladiator). The basic premis is that the government (along many national government) has been tracking down and collecting people with these psychic powers in order to use them as weapons or soldiers. They have been experimenting with an enhancer drug to make these subjects more powerful but with no success. They finally get a success and she escapes a wild goose chase ensues.

    Very loosely Dakota fanning is a child Watcher (future see-er) who enlists the help of our young protagnonist who is the unassuming slacker turned hero to help her and the rest of their kind from the evil government.

    A wild goose chase ensues with multiple plot holes. If you really ignore the sci-fi in this movie and just enjoy it as a simple action flick you can appreciate it a lot more. If you dont read in to much to whats going on, its an interesting premise, and although not implemented perfectly its still fun to enjoy the ride.

    I would recommend it for a rent on a simple popcorn night.

    3/5 stars

    July 8, 2009 at 2:39 pm

  10. jone5films

    The Uninvited – 2009 –
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0815245/

    The Uninvited is a low level horror film with a basic plot of a girls sickly mother dies, her dad starts dating her mothers former young nurse, and the girl and her sister begin to suspect foul play. Its a simple plot with an overall lack of great dialog or fluff. You are pleasantly rewarded though for sticking with this film as it really picks up and gets better towards the end.

    Don’t be to turned off if you aren’t particularly scared or entertained at the beginning of the film. Stay along and you’ll be fine. This one certainly wont be winning any Academy Awards for, well anything but worth a rental.

    3/5 stars

    July 15, 2009 at 2:28 pm

  11. jone5films

    The Unborn – 2009 –
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1139668/

    The Unborn is a simple movie with a simple plot. If it werent for the eerie instrumental soundtrack and horror angles it probably wouldn’t be nearly as scary as it is. The dialog is a little flat (even from Gary Oldman who this time cannot even bring some life to this film). The writing is a little odd, and there are a few plot holes. What it still manages to do however despite its flaws is entertain, and scare. It has certain parts that are just creepy, and watching at home in the dark creates the perfect atmostphere for this type of film. Don’t expect any great artistic inspiration from this movie, but its good for a good old creep you out before bed ride.

    2.5/3 stars

    July 15, 2009 at 2:36 pm

  12. jone5films

    Knowing – 2009 – This is Nic Cages most recent romp at the cineplex and at first you really start to enjoy it. It’s far enough from your standard cookie cutter Nic Cage film and character that you start to build hope, a lot of hope. The suspense builds and your hope builds even more. Halfway passes and your still into it, pulling you in deeper and deeper.

    Cage is an MIT professor who comes across a 30 year old drawing left in a time capsule and during a depressed self pity session discovers a startling discovery that the sheet of seemingly random numbers seems to predict disasters around the world and he may be able to save people with it.

    Then the swooping dues ex machina ending comes in and pretty much decimates any story they have had up until that point. This film is the definition of dues ex machina and its rather blatant use of the trite and lazy plot device.

    Overall i still enjoyed the film for the first 3/4’s of it but the end may leave a bad taste for some.

    I would say the first 3/4 is a good 4/5 stars, but it sharply drops so overall 2/5 stars.

    July 21, 2009 at 5:03 pm

  13. jone5films

    Watchmen – 2009 – Watchmen is the movie adaptation of the critically acclaimed graphic novel of the same name. It is the only graphic novel (comic) ever to be so highly lauded and is the winner of numerous awards as well as considered one of the 100 best English Language novels.

    The film adaptation is according to most a fairly faithful adaptation. (i have recently started the graphic novel and from what i can tell the scenes seem to have used the comic as a source for storyboards pretty closely) The dialog is again from what i can tell adapted well, but of course some has to be trimmed.

    The story is a very tangled one with multiple players/heroes, its a much different take on the comic hero than anything to date. The themes are much darker, and the plot much thicker.

    It takes place in a world much like the mid 80’s we know, but with the inclusion of these super heros/beings. How the world would have been different had these things existed. How they influenced global conflicts, what leaders stayed in power, etc… and how we benefited or didn’t from these actions.

    It is a very long film at over 3 hours, but some of it is pure gold. Rorshach the mysterious principled anti-hero who is also the story’s narrator is probably the most colorful character.

    I dont want to include any spoilers but suffice to say whether you love comic movies, or even comics or not, see this film.

    4/5 stars

    July 28, 2009 at 4:07 pm

  14. jone5films

    [img]http://cribbster.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/obsessed-poster.jpg[/img]

    Obsessed – 2009 – Marketed as a vehicle for Beyonce, it features some of her singing but not nearly as deliberatly forced in as you might think. The problem with this movie, well actually the problem cant properly be conveyed by describing a single element. Is it the writing? The directing? The editing? The score, the blatant product placement? All are abnormally poor, but its almost the combination that ruins it.

    The main actor Idris Elba, plays Derek, in whoms Ali Larter’s character Lisa becomes “Obsessed”. The movie opens up with a quite long musical montage of random scenes, and songs to illustrate the home life of the happy family. The problem is that noticeably so the score does not match up to the tone of the scenes. Its a mismosh thats clearly distracting.

    Then you have Derek, who is a modern day George Jefferson, he even walks like him. (Why?)

    His acting is ok, but at times its falls rather flat, im not sure if the director or screenwriter is to blame for this.

    The next largest problem is the tug of war with your suspension of disbelief. The obsession starts so quickly and randomly that it seems completely implausible. Then after a while you almost start to come around if you factor in that the obsession may just be a minifestation of a serious mental illness. However, these suspicions are never confirmed or elaborated on. None of the characters are properly developed and you really feel nothing for any of them.

    The third quarter of this movie is actually pretty good, but it falls off once again, with what can only be described as one of the most epic (although totally uneccessary) cat fights ever caught on screen.

    The low point of the film is showing Elba a clearly very dark skinned african american professional attempting to cut a rug to the tune of Play that Funky Music White boy. I mean, they couldn’t think of a better song? And to have it playing at an office party? It was so incredibly distracting to what you were watching you couldnt help but laugh (or cry). I mean this guy makes Wesley Snipes, look like Powder.
    [img]http://holdgodsgrace.files.wordpress.com/2009/01/idris-elba1.jpg[/img]

    There are many other parts in the film like this, whether due to score, acting, dialogue or other.

    I have to say avoid this if you can.

    1/5 stars.

    August 6, 2009 at 2:16 pm

  15. jone5films

    Roshamon – 1950 – Is a film directed by the Legendary Akira Kurosawa featuring Toshiro Mifune.

    The plot centers around drifters in the rain recounting the puzzling trial of a bandit accused of murdering the husband of a woman walking in the woods. The movie shifts viewpoints to tell the tale from the various players and shows the witnesses of the trial struggle to decipher the truth as the different accounts are largely different.

    Visually the film is beautiful, and Kurosawa’s wide and slowly panning shots are still to this day amazing to look at. Even at this time you can also see and appreciate his love of rain, and over the shoulder angles, as well as using fore and background shots of characters in the same shot.

    I enjoyed this film overall but honestly it fell flat in some areas. The story moves along well enough but it seems to lack some of the intermittent tension breaking humor that Kurosawa usually includes in his works of this period. It also struggles to convey the intense emotions that are being felt by the players. There are some films of this time period that can easily be watched today, many of Kurosawas other works are good examples of this, however this one just isn’t. If your a fan of his work i would suggest checking it out, as it is considered one of his masterpieces but if not then its probably not a good place to start.

    I would rank Kurosawa’s work that I have seen thus far in this order.

    The Seven Samurai (which Magnificent Seven is based on)
    Yojimbo (which the Good, bad Ugly, A few Dollars more, etc… based on)
    Hidden Fortress – (which Star Wars is based on)
    Roshamon
    Ran

    Roshamon gets 3/5 stars

    August 11, 2009 at 5:39 pm

  16. jone5films

    Inglorious Basterds (2009) This is the much anticipated Tarantino movie that ive been personally waiting for anxiously.

    Overall i was dissapointed with this film. The dialog seemed long at some scenes from the very opening its a complex story of various groups during world war II.

    Some of Tarantinos dialogue is the sharp witty brilliance you have come to know and love however he seems to veer off sometimes just on long diatribes that dont really add to the story.

    The sound track is also seriously lacking and at one point featured David Bowie?

    The Basterds and the Hans character are the best part of the movie and the relationship between them, however they just arent featured enough. To many detours to explore other parts leave the best things about this film under developed.

    Tarantino gives us some amazing characters but then proceeds to tell us a story that just isnt as good as it could have been involving them.

    I still liked this film, and im still a bit Tarantion fan, BUT overall it just wasnt as genre leading as his other films have been (aside from Death Proof)

    3/5 stars

    September 2, 2009 at 6:37 pm

  17. jone5films

    Fighting (2009) – This is a film about a young MidWestern kid (Channing Tatum) with seemingly no life skills struggling to make ends meet on the streets of New York. He gets into a bit of a fruccas with some street children and somehow this down and out former fighter/promoter of underground fights (Terrence Howard) decides he could be the Next Big Thing in the fight world. Along the way he meets a beautiful but horribly dimwitted (a perfect match perhaps?) waitress and a side love / lust story ensues. He must confront demons from his past to end the final game and get off the streets.

    Premise sound familiar? Thats because it is. Its about 10% Rocky, 5% Forest Gump, 10% Midnight Cowboy and 75% Lion Heart. Yes this film is a BLATANT rip off of the 80’s not so classic starring Jean Claude van Damme. The stories are virtually identical aside from a few twists. The sad thing is they dont improve on Lion Heart at all, in fact its incredibly inferior. Same basic premise, good looking muscular white guy in a new area gets into a fight in front of a has been street wise black guy, and underground fighting for money ensues. Did they think that no one would remember this movie?

    Howard is good for the most part, but even he couldnt bring this horrible script up to good. Tatum is ok, im not sure if i can blame him for not liking this movie, i think it was just the overall story that was the worst thing. The next worst thing is the suspension of disbelief that a guy who can punch out school children would be recruited to fight in the underground world. Thats only slightly better than the horrid fight choreography, wow this takes you back to the Action Jackson days seriously sub par.

    Possibly worth a rent if you run out of new things to watch, but overall

    2/5 stars.

    September 3, 2009 at 4:12 pm

  18. jone5films

    District 9 (2009) – I FINALLY saw District 9 last night (late to the party I know). This film and its title are borrowed from District 6 and historical events that happened in south africa where a small cape town was suddenly declared White Only during the apartheid era.

    The film is shot in a documentary style, the protagonist of which is selected from the cubicle farms of an orginization chosen to head up the relocation of these aliens that have become stranded on earth.

    The film deals with racism, predjiduce and mistreatment of people that mirrors how actual people have been treated various times throughout the past several hundred years.

    The visuals are simply astonishing given the meager $30 million budget. I would go as far as to say that this is the best Sci-Fi film i have seen in a VERY long time. It just goes to show that orginality, good writing and story telling, and a good team of effects people can trump big budget hollywood any day.

    This is a MUST see, i give it the highest possible rating.

    5/5 stars

    September 16, 2009 at 2:16 pm

  19. jone5films

    Zombieland (2009) – Zombieland is the latest to capitalize on the sort of pop culture zombie mania thats been sweeping the world in the recent past. It stars a sort of post zombie devastated world where only a very few still survive and walk the Earth a non-flesh eating regular person. It delves into a few unlikely partnerships between the staring daring Woody Harrelson, and the meek and almost obsessive compulsive Jessie Einsburg. Along the way they meet up with a pre-teen teenager and her older sister. The movie is choc full of good ole zombie smashing fun, with plenty of comic relief sprinkled in.

    I liken this movie almost to an american Shaun of the Dead. Overall I personally find Shaun of the Dead a bit funnier(then again I like british humor a bit more than some), BUT Zombieland was better paced and had less slow parts.

    You will love the twists and surprises.

    I definetly recommend this movie as a fun night out to the movies, definetly nothing deep or rewarding here, but check it out.

    3.75/5 stars

    October 29, 2009 at 1:36 pm

  20. jone5films

    New Moon (2009) – The latest vampire flick of that oh so popular franchise. This time out the story is a little more all over the place. Not surprising since it’s the second chapter in a 4 part series (4 parts?) that it at times seems a bit anti-climactic but overall well told. I have not read the books, so I not have any pre-conceived ideas about these films.

    That said, I enjoyed it. The Edward, Bella, Jacob love triangle is in full force with some twists and turns to keep things interesting. The native american wolves (which IMO are a bit spoilered in the trailers), are interesting but I feel like they could have gone into more detail there.

    From the people who have read the books Edward is described as some sort of perfect guy, but in the films he comes off as a little overly emotional and creepy, not to mention pretty dramatic.

    This is worth seeing however, and its probably the best vampire movie you will see this year (albiet it is not a horror, which still rings slightly odd to me).

    3.5/5 stars.

    November 30, 2009 at 4:06 pm

  21. jone5films

    The Road – (2009) This is the most recent adaptation of Cormac McCarthys work (the last being No Country for Old men). The Road is a story of a man (played by Viggo Mortensen and his young boy in their struggle to survive in a desolate post apocalyptic world. I read the book (which i really enjoyed) so needless to say I was eager and nervous to see how the film adaptation turned out.

    Viggo was a perfect selection and he does a terrific job. The film is simply beautiful to look at, the abandoned desolate areas, the painstaking selection of locations that must have been involved with shooting this. Everything is destroyed and they do an excellent job of really making you feel this. You feel the lonliness the hopelessness, and even the tediousness and boredom involved. I say this because at times it is a bit slow paced. They stay pretty faithful to the original material, but part of that is conveying the boredom, which on the page breezes by but for some erason when you actually see it on the screen it makes it feel like the pacing is sluggish, i know this was probably the intent, but it felt odd at times.

    It is definetly not a feel good movie, the struggle is real and gritty, and it can definetly make you feel sad/depressed and illicit some strong emotion. IMO, this is a great accomplishment for a film, but dont go taking a first date to this movie for sure.

    Oddly enough this film was only playing in one theatre in all of Houston, at the River Oaks theatre. Im guessing that promotion just hasnt been good enough for it, which is a shame because for what it is, its a great success.

    I give it 4/5 stars.

    December 14, 2009 at 5:18 pm

  22. jone5films

    Julie and Julia (2009) – Julie and Julia is the story of a young sort of aimless woman, who decides to ground herself by writing a blog cooking through all the recipies in Julia Childs famous cookbook. She decides to cook all 524 recipies in 365 days and blog about it.

    The movie flips back and forth between her and Julia Child (played by Meryl Streep), and her seeking out cooking mostly to amuse herself (at least initially) as a bored housewife.

    It ties both of their stories together as women who grow into stronger characters and learn a bit about themselves and life.

    I have to say, i did enjoy this movie, and it gave a sense of wanting to accomplish things. I would recommend it despite its obvious chick flick nature, I think, it has something that everyone can enjoy, particularly the humor.

    4/5 Stars.

    December 21, 2009 at 3:46 pm

  23. jone5films

    Avatar (3D) (2009) This is James Camerons much anticipated epic about a young paralyzed soldier who accepts an assignment on the Planet Pandora to pilot an “Avatar”, which is essentially a genetically engineered hybrid of the local indigineous humanoids, in an attempt to try to be accepted into their society and convince them to move so that they can take all of their natural resources.

    This film is probably an hour to long. (almost 3 hours), it is very beautiful to look at, in fact at times almost to beautiful as some of it is just to colorful to seem 100% real.

    The story at its core is actually very good, but they veer around a bit to much, its like they werent sure what to focus on.

    The story, is very close to another one that i really love, in fact so close that I almost want to call this movie Dances with Wolves in Space. The sad thing is that they dont do enough character delopment on the tribe itself, and when they finally do accept him it seems rushed.

    I like this movie, and id recommend paying the large price to see it in theatres just for the experience, but go in knowing its not the movie to change how movies are made as they are hyping it up to be. I feel after a 12 year hiatus Cameron has lost some of his story telling magic, but that said its still pretty good.

    3/5 stars.

    December 22, 2009 at 3:28 pm

  24. jone5films

    Following – 1998 – This is Christopher Nolan (director of Memento and the 2 new Batman Films) sort of indie flick with the premise of a young guy who develops an obsession with following people to see what they do, where they go etc…

    When he meets an interesting individual who calls him on it, things spiral out of control fast.

    This was a great concept, i dont want to include to many details and sploil it, but i loved how such a simple concept was able to turn into such a complex and interesting plot.

    Check it out for sure

    4/5 stars.

    January 19, 2010 at 9:22 pm

  25. jone5films

    Inception 2010- Wow what an amazing ride by the quickly becoming more great Christopher Nolan. This follows a truly amazing world you are immersed in with an actual reasonable sounding story woven behind these incredible visuals. The complete package is something no movie fan should go without seeing. I don’t want to go to into the story because I truly believe everyone should see this without any prior knowledge to it, but DiCaprio, Joseph Gorden Levitt and the rest of the casts performances are great at getting the audience pulled into this amazing ride.

    5/5 stars.

    September 13, 2010 at 3:24 pm

  26. jone5films

    The Social Network – What an intense tale told by David Fincher about the creation and proliferation of Facebook. Jessie Einsbergs portrayal of billionaire Mark Zuckerberg is chilling and excellent. The story is both interesting, exciting, and grabs you from the very beginning with a tale of ambition, genius and yet still tells a somewhat sad story.

    The simple range of emotions you feel for the characters during this film is a testament to Finchers directorial skills.

    Definitely see it.

    4/5 Stars.

    October 26, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s